Incredible Sensibilities: Humility and a respectful nod to Gregory Peck

Image
Gregory Peck in To Kill A Mocking bird

In my mind’s “catalog” of books that significantly impacted my life, To Kill A Mockingbird is in my Top Ten. Many, many themes in the novel both captured my imagination and gave legs to my ideas about the human condition (as I understood them to be at 12). Gregory Peck’s portrayal of Atticus in the movie brought the story to life with incredible focus on the character’s weakness, strengths and humility. I suspect this part of the role was easiest for a man like Peck. I salute a great actor and a wonderful human being… a man of incredible style and grace.

Below is a message from Veronique Peck (Gregory’s wife) that she asked us to post on her behalf:

Dear Friends of the To Kill A Mockingbird facebook page,
Thank you for all your wonderful comments on the film and on my daughter Cecilia’s post. I’m deeply touched by what you write, and everything you say about Gregory is so true. It warms my heart to hear from you that he was able to convey who he was through his work. He was, and is, the most extraordinary man.

With love,
Veronique

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑